1905

<u>1905</u>

A trophy for competition football was first played for in 1905.

Named the Tippett Trophy, it involved all members of the winning team being photographed individually and then in a group, making a magnificent souvenir.

Office Bearers included,

President: A. Ebeling.

Secretary: W.W. Kaye

Treasurer: L. Russell.

Committee: Messrs Wiltshire, Hempseed, J. Neville, Wadelton, Johnson, Henderson, Maguire and Howell.

The Club Colours were red and blue and the players list was:

F. Wiltshire (Captain), T. Neville (Vice-Captain), Yates, Apee, Beavis, Wiltshire, Johnson, Scambling, Hutchinson, Mockett, Summers, Russell, Neville, Brown, Wadelton, Bradley, Howell, Williamson, Cox, B. Snell, Temple, Whitley, Bastow, Lusby, McEwan, Nicholls, Cudmore, Daly, LaRoche, Henderson and Farish.

go to 1909

1909 The 1st Glorious Premiership

By 1909 football was firmly established as the main winter sporting recreation for men.

On Saturday 17 April 1909, a big crowd of interested persons attended the annual meeting of the Football Club, held at the Avoca Hotel.

The meeting was chaired by Mr. G.W. Redpath, who presented a "satisfactory" balance sheet from the previous season of one pound, 16 shillings and eight pence.

Office Bearers elected included:

President: E.S. Watts

Secretary: J. Price

Treasurer: S. Barrett

Vice Presidents: D. Larkins, F. Wiltshire, A. Mockett, G. Downton, T. McGoldrick

Committee: P. LaRoche, L. Yates, G. Beavis, F. Wiltshire, A. Rohde.

The Competition, known as the Avoca District Association, consisted of three teams, Avoca, Redbank and Homebush.

They competed for a trophy donated by R. W. Laidlaw and E. S. Watts, President of the Avoca Football Club and proprietor of the Avoca Hotel.

More than 800 spectators turned up at the Avoca Park on Saturday 18 September 1909 for the Grand Final between Avoca and Homebush.

The match was even until the third quarter when Avoca kicked four goals to nil.

Grand Final

Avoca 5.9.39

Homebush 0.5.5

The victory gave Avoca what is now recognised as the Bulldogs first premiership.

On 10 October 1909, a smoke social, to celebrate the achievement, was organised at the Albion Hotel.

A big crowd witnessed the presentation of the Premiership trophy to Avoca's captain Augie Rhode.

Medals were presented to C. Hutchison Best Placed Man, P. Nicholson Best back man, G. Beavis Best Ruck and Augie Rhode Best All Round Player.

When accepting his medal, the captain Augie Rhode, said he felt that all of the players in the Premiership side deserved a medal, and would like to see that happen when the team won the Premiership again next year.

<u>go to 1910</u>

1910 Premiers



1910 2nd Premiership

The Avoca & District Football Association was formed in 1910 with five teams competing: Avoca, Amphitheatre, Redbank, Elmhurst and Homebush.

It was a momentous season for Avoca.

After winning their first pennant the previous season, Avoca's rivals seemed hell bent on cutting the reigning premiers down to size.

On Wednesday 20 July 1910, Avoca and Homebush clashed in a replay of the previous year's Grand Final.

It was a gruelling match from start to finish and was delayed for several minutes when blows were thrown in the last quarter.

However, at the end of the season, Avoca and Elmhurst had earned the right to meet in the Grand Final.

The match was scheduled to be played at Elmhurst, which concerned Avoca, because Elmhurst had not been beaten at home during the season.

In a nail biting match, Avoca ran out winners by four points.

Avoca 2.0 3.3 4.5 5.9.39

Elmhurst 2.4 4.5 5.5 5.5.35

Avoca's Best: Ahpee, Wiltshire, Beavis, Doodt, Harrison, McAllister, Rohde, Studd, Yates, Summers.

To celebrate, the supporters of the club arranged a complimentary smoke night for the players at the Fire Brigade Hall.

Unfortunately, there is no record of the Senior Players List, and the Official Office Bearers, however the Junior Team list was:

G Yates, V Samers, C Bonker, D Summers, L Summers, W Harrison, H Willmott, A Wolfe, O Reed, Jack Beavis, Reg Johnson, J Yates, L Calnan, O Brown, J Clone, P Brown, N Harris, P Kang, O Marshall, T Henderson, H Larches, W Lewis, M Calnan, A Floater, A Williamson, H Imply, W Driver, Jack Johnson, R Harrowfield.

<u>go to 1912</u>

<u>1912</u>

The Avoca Senior Team disbanded in 1911, but reformed in 1912.

The Office Bearers were,

President: D.J. (Dan) Larkins

Secretary: J. Price

Treasurer: W. Mitchell

Captain: A. Rhode

Avoca's colours were vertical Yellow and Black Stripes, but there is no record of player lists.

Six Teams made up the competition, including Avoca, Natte Yallock, Redbank, Homebush, Glenlogie and Amphitheatre.

<u>go to 1921</u>